Hello World!

WordPress automatically named my first entry “Hello World!” Here is why it is an appropriate blog entry title:

I found out that I will be posted to Nairobi, Kenya for the next two years. This will be the fifth country I have lived in five years. But what makes it special is that I will be spending longer than 9 months there, which is currently my record for any place I have lived in the past four years. I actually look forward to this. It will also give my friends enough time to visit (not that I am hinting or anything).

Usually when I travel somewhere, I tend to write mass emails. This time, however, I will try to be a little more technologically advanced and write a blog. Two immediate benefits I can see from this are: firstly, from my side, I don’t have to always worry if I have forgotten someone’s email address, who may potentially be interested in what I am doing. Secondly, for all those poor people on the email list who I thought may be potentially interested in what I am doing but aren’t really, well, they will not be consistently harassed with my long-winded emails. Instead, I can just write here and those who are interested can read it and those who are not don’t have too. So it really is a two way gain.

For my first blog post (still from Austria, preparing to move to Kenya in September), I thought I would start a list of things I wish to accomplish in the next two years. I know this could be a fruitless activity (based on my not so amazing record with New Year’s Resolutions). However, now that it is published, rather than scribbled on a piece of paper hidden somewhere in my room, I could feel more compelled to actually stick to it. However, I will be realistic and start with only three goals.

1. Climb Mount Kilimanjaro (yes, I know I said realistic…)

2. Learn Swahili (I have already purchased a teach-yourself-Swahili kit, however, I am yet to start)

3. Have travelled to all five countries of the East African Community (currently I am only missing Tanzania and Burundi – but of course Uganda and Rwanda will be visited again too)

This list is definitely more inspiring than any New Year’s Resolution List I have ever written.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Hello World!

  1. Mr WordPress says:

    Hi, this is a comment.
    To delete a comment, just log in, and view the posts’ comments, there you will have the option to edit or delete them.

  2. Pingback: Lac Kivu | The World and I

  3. Pingback: Goal 2: Learn Swahili | The World and I

Leave a Reply

