Worthwhile Moments in Life

Those who know me, know that I am a Manchester United fan. A very big Manchester United Fan in fact.

So this may help you appreciate the fact that yesterday I found myself sitting outside in a tropical rainstorm in Yambio, Western Equatoria State, South Sudan, for lack of an indoor TV screen. Retrospectively, perhaps this was perhaps a pretty bizzare sight: me, sitting among many South Sudanese and Ugandan men, with bright blue my raincoat covering me and Tusker in hand to watch Manchester United play its first important match of the 2011/2012 season. But in my mind, the mind of a dedicated fan, this made complete sense.

And as it turned out, it was definitely one of those worthwhile moments in life. In the 94th minute Nani clinched the winner and Manchester United lifted its first trophy of the season!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Worthwhile Moments in Life

  1. Nantume says:

    Astrid, your seven year old godson, Alexander, shares your MU passion (I wonder from there that came?!), and I am sure he will be thrilled! He received recently an MU cap from me, which he refused to remove for the whole time he was with us.

  2. Nantume says:

    Edit: I should have written “from where that came?)

Leave a Reply

