I told you so.

Well, you are going to have to wait one post to find out what has happened to me in the past four months. Because there is something I have seen in the papers today which I have to comment on.

There are some cases where it is not ok to wish an event to happen just so you can say “I told you so.” Really, even if you are trying to make a point, still not ok.

One of those events? The massive fire that burnt down a large chunk of Konyo Konyo, one of the major markets in Juba. It provides livelihoods for numerous residents in Juba and food for the rest of us.

But as the Juba Post reports, the Mayor of Juba is the

“happiest man with the fire that gutted Konyo Konyo,”

because:

“The fire outbreak has proved my campaign against corrugated iron sheet shops right.”

I realise that there is a major problem with building with corrugated iron sheets. It is both a health and a safety hazard. But again, really? Happy with a major fire so you can say I told you so?

I forget though, that was not the only reason he was happy:

“…it will now ease his work plan in demolishing squatters markets and replace them with modern structures.”

Well then.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to I told you so.

  1. Nantume says:

    This cannot be true! Should I “admire” or condemn the mayor for his honesty?!

Leave a Reply

