Photo Interlude – Gorillas

Finally, finally I have fulfilled another travel dream and checked off another box of things I absolutely had to do in my life: I went Gorilla trekking in Rwanda. It is a very special experience when you finally stand face to face with them. It is in fact incredible – they display so many of the traits that we humans do. They are much shorter and fatter than I imagined them to be (I guess my views have been tainted by King Kong?!). You are also supposed to keep at least 7 meters distance. But especially the little ones are so inquisitive that they come right up to you. Therefore, before I continue with my usual anecdotal blogging, I give you some of my favorite photos from the Ntaramba Gorilla Group, Volcanos National Park, Rwanda.

But because I cannot quite resist, here is one interesting (unverified and probably not verifiable because I cannot imagine its true) fact that our guide Fidel gave us. And really it is something more interesting for my female readership: He said that 85% of gorilla babies born are male!! As I said, somehow I am not sure that is quite true – but really ladies, imagine the choice that would give you!

Itchy Back

Yaaaaawwwwnnn.

Oooooo Gorilla!

Mr. Silverback was done with us taking photos of him.

Inquisitive Babes

Yummy

Whatchya lookin at

Baby

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Photo Interlude – Gorillas

  1. Nantume says:

    If only I were a gorilla!
    Anecdotes apart, the photos are superb.

Leave a Reply

