Photo Interlude – Ethiopia

As alluded to in the last post, I spent a couple of days over the Easter break visiting a dear friend in Ethiopia. During this trip I was in Addis Ababa, then spent a few days at Lake Langano and then took a day trip to Lake Wenchi (a crater lake).

Before the trip, I decided to go to the Ethiopian Embassy to get my visa as I heard rumours that there were plans to stop issuing tourist visas at the airport. Given the fickleness of the immigration regulations in South Sudan that I was used to, I figured it would do no harm to get my visa before. That and also really the novelty of going to an embassy in Juba to get a visa issued.

So off I went with my forms, photos and money. When I got to the counter (read: wooden table in the middle of the room), I put forward my request for a visa. The consular official looked at me and inquired why I was getting a visa. I told him that according to the Ethiopian Immigration Department, I needed one.

Immigration Official: But you look Ethiopian. You are sure you are not?

I guess the South Sudanese Immigration Officials are not the only ones to judge nationality on looks.

Lake Langano

Lake Wenchi

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Photo Interlude – Ethiopia

  1. d_shijie says:

    ha! i have been to lake langano too (spent a few nights on its banks at the end of a 4-week trip through ethiopia… very nice quiet eco-resort there)… and i have a feeling we went to that crater lake too. fascinating trip it was, amazing history (which has luckily survived) and great landscape…

Leave a Reply

